European Tour Article
Diageo Championship

Cruising for Miles

Miles Tunnicliff cruised to a five shot victory over Graeme McDowell of Northern Ireland in the Diageo Championships at Gleneagles on Sunday. Co-leader after 18 holes, Tunnicliff took a five stroke lead on Friday with a 68, one of only six rounds in the sixties. As the rest of the field struggled with the windy conditions, Tunnicliff was in his element and his game only suffered on Saturday, when the sun came out. But the wind returned for the final day and he capped off his excellent performance with another 68, this time bogey-free, for a 13 under par total of 275 to take his second European Tour title.

Miles Tunnicliff with the trophy.
Photo - Getty Images

Graeme McDowell.
Photo - Getty Images

Graeme McDowell, who won the Telecom Italia Open last month, carded a final round of 67 which included five consecutive birdies on holes 8 to 12. Even without his double-bogey on the par-5 16th he could not have caught Tunnicliff and had to settle for the runner-up spot with an 8 under par total of 280.
Following on from his fourth place in the Celtic Manor Wales Open last week, Aussie Nick O'Hern finished tied for third place with a total of 281. He held a share of the lead after day one and a share of second place after the second and third rounds but his 71 on Sunday was not enough to put any pressure on the winner.

Nick O'Hern.
Photo - Getty Images

Steven O'Hara.
Photo - Getty Images

The other joint third place finisher was 23 year old Steven O'Hara of Scotland who put in a round of 67 to climb from 17th position at the start of play.

Scotland's Andrew Oldcorn (67) and Englishman David Lynn (68) tied for fifth place one shot further back on 282.

Colin Montgomerie finished with a share of 22nd place on 287, one under par.


Copyright Notice: All photographs on this page are reproduced under license from Getty Images and are protected by worldwide copyright laws.

Click on photographs to view the full size image in a new browser window.



Copyright 2004 - All Rights Reserved